The ramblings of a 21 year old.

I’m only 21, yet get told constantly that I’m ‘wise beyond my years‘. I choose not to drink or take drugs and have a perspective in life that I’ve noticed many people around me don’t share.

I often wonder how people get so caught up in trivial dramas and complain about the smallest of life’s concerns when others are suffering and dying. I know this is very deep and I should probably ‘ try to think less’ and ‘be less uptight’ but when you really think about life and how miraculous it is that we are even here; we should be enjoying it, no matter how we decide to. I hear people talking about the most superficial things and dissing other people because of their looks or judging them for their actions but realistically…why? Why must you feel the need to put other’s down? What is the point? How are people meant to enjoy their time on this planet when they are being judged…just let them be.     Image

I suppose this blog post has come to be as a group of hearing impaired people came into our shop today and they were radiating positivity, happiness and lust for life that I don’t experience often. Then I started to think about their life experiences and how they must have had to accept their condition and although I know that they can live a normal life and are just as able as anyone else, it must be difficult. A lot of people I know, would create such mass drama around a break up or a ‘bitch fight’ and create huge amounts of self indulgent, attention seeking, negative moping when really, that’s all they’re contending with.

As my sister and I sell wigs in our shop we serve a lot of men who like to dress as women and they really, really stand out from the other customers we serve. They are extra polite and vigilant of us treating them as ‘normal’ people and not rushing to judge them. They often tell us stories of how they enter other wig retailers and feel so uncomfortable because the sales assistants laugh and point but really, WHY? It frustrates me so much. These men are just living life the way they are happiest living it! In our own shop girls have been known to giggle at the men that come in browsing the wig section and it makes me sad that people can be so close minded and quick to make judgment on someone who has feelings just like they do.

I used to be a very close minded person myself, having been brought up with a sheltered lifestyle and not understanding why people would live a certain way. I try everyday to differ this way of thinking because it isn’t right. At the end of the day I want to be the best person I can be and if I’m judging people for their choices, I don’t think I’m succeeding. Recently, I’ve met some people who have inspired me to change due to them probably being the nicest, most genuine people I’ve ever met. Had I not had this revelation I never would have taken the time out to spend with them and that would really have been a loss on my part. I believe people come into your life for a reason and I think these specific people have.

I hear you say… ‘but you’re judging other people for judging’. This is true. I know I shouldn’t, I was once there myself, caught up in a web of my own sheltered delusion. You never know anyone’s background, how they’ve been brought up or how they’ve been treated …their views may make perfect sense to them. Realistically, I don’t have anything against anyone I just want people to see things from my perspective, as I’m sure we all do … but if you are reading this just take a minute out to think that we are all valuable in this world, all of us. We all contribute and can influence people negatively or positively, I just hope people choose the latter.

Anyway, I’m late – night rambling again (this is becoming a habit).

I’d like to hear people’s opinions on this because it’s something that I’m not surrounded by a lot. I get told it’s an age thing and that when people my age have grown up they’ll have the same opinions. At the moment 21 is all about clubbing and drinking and things I don’t care to be around. It’d be nice to see some comments.

If you’ve liked this blog post please give it a like or a share and if you want to keep updated on other things I post just give my blog a follow 🙂

Thanks for reading 🙂

Emily X

 

One thought on “The ramblings of a 21 year old.

  1. I think it is awesome that you think about things the way you do, not many people of any age group care about being decent anymore. I am a 29 year old mother of 4 boys and a recovering drug addict and alcoholic, so I know a little something about judgment. If you have time you should check out my blog; if you like it go ahead and follow. I am now following you.

Leave a Reply

